Making cycle lanes safe

The painted on cycles lanes on the roads of NE Lincs offer no protection at all, and are frequently parked over and ignored by drivers. For example, yesterday I was nearly knocked off my bike whilst riding in a cycle lane. An unmarked grey Ford Transit (registration FV12 EOK) taking a left turn from Weelsby Rd into Ladysmith Rd far too fast, cut across the cycle lane and came within a couple of inches of me. It was extremely dangerous.

The cycle lane itself is badly designed, forcing traffic turning left to cross it. Designing-in conflict like this will only lead to problems, as I experienced yesterday. Much better to have taken this particular cycle lane to the left of the junction and provide a crossing with cycle right-of-way at the lights, with drivers turning left having to give way to cycles.

The painted on cycle lane goes straight on, forcing traffic turning left to cross it.

The painted on cycle lane goes straight on, forcing traffic turning left to cross it.

How much better it could be! I came across this page on peopleforbikes.org this morning, showing how various cities provide a degree of separation to their on-road cycle lanes. These various designs provide a level of safety from vehicular intrusion that we simply don’t have! Can we have some please? I don’t like feeling I’m in danger when I’m in a cycle lane, even with a flashing rear light in daylight! There are numerous different styles shown on the linked page but they all provide separation and safety.

Half-wheel bollards in Seville separate the cycle lane from the road, giving the cyclists protection from careless drivers.

Half-wheel bollards in Seville separate the cycle lane from the road, giving the cyclists protection from careless drivers.

5 Responses to Making cycle lanes safe

  1. waltonharry says:

    I’ve been in similar situations (with vehicles cutting across my path) many times. Although it doesn’t necessarily protect me, I like to make drivers aware of my presence with an air-horn like this one: http://www.cyclesurgery.com/pws/UniqueProductKey.ice?ProductID=NS0030XX&gclid=COn3puabhbsCFWzItAodUHAAJg&gclsrc=aw.ds
    I have the button attached to my seatpost so I can operate it with my thigh while my hands are busy with brakes and hand gestures!

  2. James Barker says:

    Anyone fancy buying some bricks and concrete for some late night infrastructure DIY?

  3. Pingback: Space for cycle lanes – it can be found! « Dutch bikes in the UK

  4. I just like the helpful info you provide on your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at once more right here regularly.
    I am moderately sure I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the following!

Leave a comment